- Handles Git automatically: Bolt manages the technical Git steps for you.
- Gives you control: You decide which projects connect to GitHub.
- For GitHub orgs, gives admins control: Admins can decide which organization repos are available to which organization accounts.
Bolt also offers a GitHub MCP connector for tasks like searching code, pulling in issues, and reviewing discussions. Use the GitHub integration described in this article to keep your project’s code synced with a repository. Use the MCP connector for other GitHub workflows that don’t involve syncing commits.
Prerequisites
To connect your GitHub account to Bolt, you need an individual GitHub account. Before starting, sign up for a GitHub account if you don’t already have one.If your GitHub organization is connected to Bolt, you can access organization repositories through your org instead. See GitHub organization setup for details.
Connect GitHub
To connect an individual GitHub account to Bolt:- Sign in to Bolt and open a project.
- In the top-right corner of the screen, click the GitHub icon.
- Click Log in to GitHub.
- When prompted to let StackBlitz (Bolt’s parent company) access your GitHub account, click Authorize.
- Click Install the GitHub App.
- Select whether Bolt can access All repositories or Only select repositories. The Install & Authorize Bolt.new (by StackBlitz) page opens.
- Click Install & Authorize to confirm, then follow the on-screen instructions to enter your credentials.
Change repository access
If you want Bolt to access additional repositories, or remove access to ones it no longer needs, you can update this at any time. You don’t need to be an organization admin to do this for your own account.- In Bolt, open a project connected to GitHub.
- In the top-right corner of the screen, click the GitHub icon.
- Click Configure the GitHub App. The Install & Authorize Bolt.new (by StackBlitz) page opens.
- Update your repository access, then click Save.
Create a new repository from a Bolt project
- Open the project you want to link with a new GitHub repository.
- In the top-right corner of the screen, click the GitHub icon. The Create a repository page opens.
- Enter a name for your new repository.
- Click Create repository.
- Click Start building to return to Bolt.
main branch. You can set the repository to public in your GitHub settings.
You can create other branches in GitHub, but your Bolt project stays on main. You can’t switch the project to a different branch.
Import an existing repository
You can import a repository if you have push permissions on it and it has a default branch. You can’t import a repository that’s empty. Your Bolt project is linked to the repository’smain branch, and Bolt pushes all your changes there. You can create other branches in GitHub, but you can’t switch the Bolt project to a different branch.

- On the Bolt homepage, below the chatbox, click GitHub, then log in to your GitHub account.
-
Choose how you want to import:
- Use the drop-down menu to select the repository.
- Click Import from URL, then enter your GitHub repository URL.
- Click Choose this repository. Bolt loads your repository as a new Bolt project.
How Bolt syncs with GitHub
Bolt saves your work automatically. Every time you make a change that doesn’t break the project, Bolt creates a commit for you. It also checks GitHub every 30 seconds for any updates made outside Bolt and pulls those in.Resolve conflicting changes
Rarely, GitHub might have a newer version than Bolt. This can happen if a change is pushed to GitHub while you’re making changes in Bolt. If this happens, Bolt can’t push your latest changes, and a GitHub conflict message appears. Bolt pulls in the newer GitHub version, and you choose one of these options:- Pull and resend last message: Apply the last change you made in Bolt again on top of the new GitHub version.
- Pull and discard last message: Keep GitHub’s version as-is, without applying the last change you made in Bolt.
Check your sync status
To check your connection and sync status, click the GitHub icon in the top-right corner of the screen. The GitHub status panel shows:- The sync status:
- Syncing to GitHub means Bolt is still working or sending changes.
- Synced to GitHub means Bolt has sent all your changes.
- The linked repository.
- The branch your project is on.
Troubleshoot GitHub sync issues
In your own projects, Bolt syncs to GitHub every time you make a change. If collaborators edit your project, their changes sync the next time you open the project. If your changes don’t sync to GitHub as expected, reauthorizing the GitHub app can help refresh the connection and get your sync working again. To reauthorize your GitHub connection:- On the Bolt homepage, below the chatbox, click the GitHub option.
- In the Import a repository dialog, click Configure the GitHub App. The Install Bolt.new (by StackBlitz) page opens.
- Select your GitHub account. The Install & Authorize Bolt.new (by StackBlitz) page opens.
- Click Install & Authorize, then follow the on-screen instructions to enter your credentials. When GitHub finishes verifying your credentials, you’re returned to Bolt, and your connection is refreshed.
Connect to a GitHub organization
Bolt supports working with GitHub organizations, which allow teams to install the Bolt app at the organizational level and choose which repositories are visible to members inside Bolt. To learn more, see GitHub organization setup.Collaborate on projects connected to GitHub
Only the project owner can connect and manage the GitHub integration. If you’re a collaborator on a shared project, the GitHub icon isn’t available to you, and changes you make sync to GitHub the next time the project owner opens the project. To learn more about how integrations work in shared projects, see Collaborate with others.Disconnect a project
Disconnecting a project permanently removes its connection to the GitHub repository. The project no longer syncs to GitHub, and you can’t manually reconnect it. To disconnect a project:- Open a project that’s already linked to a GitHub repository.
- In the top-right corner of the screen, click the GitHub icon.
- Click Disconnect project, then click Disconnect to confirm.
If you need to reconnect the project to the same GitHub repository, contact support.
Disconnect GitHub
Fully removing your GitHub integration is a one-step process if you used your GitHub account to create your Bolt account, or a two-step process if you didn’t. Either way, start by following the steps below:1
Revoke access in GitHub
- Log in to GitHub.
- In the top-right corner of the screen, click your profile icon.
- Click Settings.
- In the left-side navigation menu (near the bottom), click Applications.
- Click the Authorized GitHub Apps tab.
- In the Bolt/StackBlitz row, click Revoke.
- Click I understand, revoke access.
If you signed up for your StackBlitz/Bolt account using Google or your email address, continue to part 2 to complete the process. If you signed up using GitHub, your GitHub integration is now removed.
2
Delete the GitHub connection in StackBlitz
- Log in to StackBlitz.
- In the left navigation menu, click Settings.
- Click the Credentials tab.
- In the GitHub section, click Delete.