BA3 Rulebook Errata FAQ Feb25
BA3 Rulebook Errata FAQ Feb25
February 2025
rulebook - ERRATA
PAGE 82. Measure the range and open fire PAGE 124. Artillery Units
Third paragraph, CHANGE the second sentence as follows: CHANGE the second sentence as follows:
Note that players can hold back fire with any models in The crew are arranged in formation as described for
the unit that are equipped with weapons with limited infantry units, but must also all be within 1" of any part of
ammunition (e.g. one-shot weapons, flamethrowers, etc). the gun model.
PAGE 102. Spotters PAGE 125. Artillery and shooting. Line of Sight.
First paragraph, ADD the following: ADD the following sentence after the first.
Spotters have the Infiltrators special rule (see page 120). Enemy shooting against the artillery unit can draw line of
sight to either the gun or the crew models (but remember
Second paragraph, CHANGE the first sentence as follows:
that the range is measured to the centre of the gun).
[...] the crew are assumed to be able to also see whatever any
spotter (or forward observer) in your force can see. PAGE 131. Vehicles and Orders
Note, however, that a spotter/observer can only spot for a Second column, first sentence, CHANGE as follows:
single Indirect Fire weapon per game turn.
Note that this reverse move has to be straight backwards,
If the firing unit switches to a different spotter in a following with no pivot allowed, and the vehicle must move as fast as
turn, this resets the ranging-in process, just as if the unit had it can (e.g. a normal vehicle must reverse at half Advance
moved. This can potentially [...] speed, while Recce vehicles must reverse at full Advance
speed, and dual direction steering vehicles must reverse at
PAGE 102. Multiple Launchers full Run speed!).
First paragraph, second sentence, CHANGE the sentence
as follows: PAGE 136. Two or more weapons on the same mount
A multiple launcher fires as a heavy mortar, but its chance of Second paragraph, CHANGE last sentence to:
hitting never gets any better than a 6 (no ranging in), and its “For example, a quad-linked HMG would fire three shots
minimum range is increased to 36". per weapon (see Vehicle-mounted Machine Guns on page
Note: this errata replaces the previously published multiple 134), for a total of twelve shots against the same target!”
launcher errata and is not in addition to it.
PAGE 145. Transport Vehicles
PAGE 113. You men, snap to action! End of first paragraph, DELETE the following sentence:
CHANGE the last sentence as follows: ‘various extra rules that apply to transports.’
Note that officers in reserve or first wave cannot use this
special rule. PAGE 149. Command Vehicle
Second sentence, DELETE the following words:
(not cumulative with morale bonus, check term. and other
command vehicles).
®
1
Permission to print for personal use only. © 2025 Warlord Games Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Warlord Games, the Warlord Games logo, Warlord Resin,
Warlord Resin Plus, Bolt Action and the Bolt Action logo are either ® or ™, and/or © Warlord Games Limited, variably registered around the world.
PAGE 188. Armoured Platoon – Pg 236. Special Forces infantry Section
Platoon Command Vehicle CHANGE the first option as follows:
CHANGE the sentence in the first box as follows:
Add up to 6 additional men with rifles at +15pts each
This must be a vehicle that has the Command Vehicle special
rule, or that has been given this rule from its entry’s options Pg 239. Anti-tank guns. Special rules
(including vehicles from the Transports & Tows category
that have this rule or option). ADD the following rule:
If you don’t have a vehicle that has (or has been given) the Rotating Platform (light anti-tank gun only)
Command Vehicle rule in this armoured platoon, you can
give the Command Vehicle rule to a single vehicle from PAGE 242. Stuart Light Tank unit entry
the categories listed above (tanks, armoured cars, etc.) for ADD the following to the Recce special rule:
+10pts.
- Recce (if Stuart Recce option is taken).
PAGE 189. Recce Infantry Platoon diagram
PAGE 245. Crusader AA Tank unit entry
CHANGE the sentence “Each unit in the platoon MUST
include a transport vehicle” to: CHANGE the Open-topped special rule to:
“The platoon MUST include enough transport vehicles to - Open-topped (Crusader AA Mk I only).
transport all infantry.”
PAGE 253. Forward Observer unit entry
PAGE 206. Inexperienced Infantry unit entry CHANGE the cost of optional men to:
CHANGE unit’s base Cost to: +11pts per man (Regular) or +14pts per man (Veteran)
35pts.
PAGE 254. Inexperienced Infantry Squad unit entry
PAGE 222. Rangers unit entry DELETE the following special rule:
CHANGE the Composition to: Unarmed (if taken): Unarmed men neither shoot nor attack
1 NCO and 4 men. in close quarters – their only value is as casualties.
PAGE 223. Marines Squad unit entry PAGE 264. SU-152 & ISU-152 unit entry
CHANGE the fourth option to: In the Big Shell special rule section, CHANGE the last
sentence to:
Up to 3 men may replace their rifle with a pistol for
-1pt each The Howitzer has Pen +5.
Cumbersome: this unit counts as a heavy gun for the Light howitzer, light or medium anti-tank gun, light or
purposes of movement. It also counts as a vehicle-mounted heavy anti-aircraft gun.
machine gun for the purposes of determining the number of
shots it fires. PAGE 270. IJA or SNLF Infantry Squad unit entry
ADD the following option:
PAGE 235. Infantry Section unit entry
- The entire squad may be given the Engineers special rule for
ADD the following option: +1 per model.
- The entire squad may be given the Engineers special rule for
+1 per model. PAGE 277. Prime Movers
ADD the following special rule:
PAGE 235. Home Guard Section unit entry
- Slow
DELETE the following special rule:
Unarmed (if taken): Unarmed men neither shoot nor attack
in close quarters – their only value is as casualties.
®
2
Permission to print for personal use only. © 2025 Warlord Games Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Warlord Games, the Warlord Games logo, Warlord Resin,
Warlord Resin Plus, Bolt Action and the Bolt Action logo are either ® or ™, and/or © Warlord Games Limited, variably registered around the world.
PAGE 266
ADD the following box-out:
LEND-LEASE
Soviet armies themed to follow 1941 can field the following
vehicles from the British and American lists.
Tanks/Tank Destroyers
• Valentine I–VIIA
• M3 Stuart
• MK VII Tetrarch
• M10 Wolverine
• M3 Lee
• M4 75mm Sherman
• M4 76mm Sherman
• Churchill
• Matilda Mk II
Armoured cars
• M3 White Scout Car
Anti-aircraft vehicles
• M17 GMC
Transports and Tows
• M3 Half-track
• Bren carrier
• Jeep
• DUKW
®
3
Permission to print for personal use only. © 2025 Warlord Games Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Warlord Games, the Warlord Games logo, Warlord Resin,
Warlord Resin Plus, Bolt Action and the Bolt Action logo are either ® or ™, and/or © Warlord Games Limited, variably registered around the world.
rulebook - FAQS
Do unarmed models fight in close quarters or not? Can units that do not have spotters in their unit entry (like
Yes, they do. See the Errata document for an amendment light mortars) benefit from the line of sight of spotters?
removing a rule that previously stated that some unarmed Yes, they can, provided they are Regular or Veteran. This also
models would not fight in close quarters. applies to any vehicle and any other unit that fires Indirect
fire weapons.
What happens to units in a transport that is destroyed
because it retreats from the table, or one that fails to come in Can the last operator of an artillery piece be removed to take
from Reserves? over another?
Transported/towed units are destroyed together with Yes, the last operator can leave a gun, which counts as
the vehicle. destroyed (i.e. remove its Order die). This is the opposite of
re-crewing a gun without crew!
The Key Positions victory condition indicates D3+4 objective
markers are placed on the table within 12" of each other and 6" Can a tank with Slow Load rule act first on the turn if
from the table edges. What happens if it becomes impossible to activated by an officer’s Snap to Action ability?
place all objectives on the table? Yes, because the officer is given the order before the vehicle
Any objectives that cannot be placed are simply not placed with Slow Load.
and the game continues with fewer objectives.
How many Indirect Fire units can a spotter or forward observer
If a transport or tow vehicle mounts a weapon and therefore ‘loses spot for per turn? Can a Forward Observer spot and perform
all transport capacity’, does it mean it also loses towing capability? their own Fire order in the same turn?
Yes, it does. They can spot for a single friendly unit firing Indirect fire per
turn. This represents them feeding coordinates and ranging
If you upgrade the Stummel to the 251/9 with transport feedback to that firing unit.
capacity, can you then put it in the transport slot for a Recce
Platoon and give it Recce? If a vehicle has the transport special rule, but it’s not in the
No – that vehicle entry is an SPG, not a transport, Transport & Tows section, does it suffer from the ‘Enemy
regardless of whether you give it the optional transport proximity’ rules?
capacity or not. No, because its role is that of a fighting vehicle (as per its
category), and not a Transport
Does an indirect fire unit that is ranged in on an artillery unit
retain its ranging when the target artillery crew is killed? If the Warplane 3-4 and 5-6, do I place templates down? If so, can I
gun is recrewed, as per the artillery rules, does the ranged in clip other units?
unit get to stay ranged in on the freshly recrewed gun/new unit? Yes, and yes (all affected units can choose to go Down).
The indirect weapon firing on the artillery is still ranged in, as
it ranges in on the position of the gun, not that of the crew. Page 150 Escape Reaction: the first paragraph states “…except
that before going Down, the recce vehicle makes an escape
Can members of artillery pieces be transferred to other pieces reaction.” The 2nd last sentence of that paragraph reads “Once
even if they have different levels of experience? What happens the escape move is done, turn the vehicle’s dice [sic] to Advance
to any pins they may have? or Run. Which one is it?
Yes, and they become the same rating as the existing crew, or It should be Advance or Run, whichever it used to make its
retain their original rating if there is no crew to join and they escape move.
are taking over a crewless gun. When a crew moves from one
gun to another, they discard any previous pins and instead If an enemy unit is in base contact with an obstacle, can my
have the same pins as the crew they join, as they become part unit move into contact with the opposite side of the same
of that unit. If they are re-crewing an abandoned gun, they obstacle and shoot them to negate their cover save?
simply retain any pins they currently have. It is assumed that an obstacle is no more than 1” thick, so
your unit cannot move into contact with the same obstacle
A tow is destroyed along with all the crew of the towed artillery that an enemy unit is in base contact with.
as well. Is the artillery piece left or removed along with its die?
Thus, the enemy will still benefit from the obstacle’s cover
Treat this as a gun that has no crew left - leave it there, and it
when your unit fires, while your unit will not benefit from
can be re-crewed.
that obstacle’s cover if the enemy then returns fire. Consider
assaulting them instead.
®
4
Permission to print for personal use only. © 2025 Warlord Games Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Warlord Games, the Warlord Games logo, Warlord Resin,
Warlord Resin Plus, Bolt Action and the Bolt Action logo are either ® or ™, and/or © Warlord Games Limited, variably registered around the world.
If a long linear piece of terrain is considerably thicker than 1", If units from opposing forces both end the turn on Ambush, and
then it should not be treated as an obstacle in the game, but wish to Fire at each other, how do you decide which makes the
rather an area of rough ground or impassable terrain. attempt first?
As normal, agree beforehand with your opponent what these Roll-off. The winner declares what his units in Ambush are
pieces of terrain count as before the start of the game. doing and resolves any fire. Then the opponent does the same.
If an “Armies of ” book does not include some of the Common Can I have more than one vehicle with the Command Vehicle
Transport Vehicles, can I still use them from the rulebook? rule in the same armoured platoon?
Yes, you can. Yes, you can. You can add as many such vehicles in the same
Armoured Platoon. One of them will be your mandatory
HE (High Explosive) on page 99 left column line 13 states Platoon Command Vehicle. Note that this does not mean
‘Take Saves and then roll for damage as normal’. Is this correct? you can give the Command Vehicle rule to several vehicles
No, it’s the other way around, roll to damage and then take if your Armoured Platoon does not include any vehicle with
saves, as normal. the Command Vehicle rule in its entry, but just to one of
them in order to fulfill the mandatory slot.
If an air strike against a building results in a strafing fighter,
and the floor being hit includes an enemy target, does the In a Panic caused by FUBAR, can running as fast as possible
target get cover saves or not (as the fighter does not use HE)? toward the closest table edge result in the unit entering a
And if the fighter gets 10 or more hits on the unit, does the building or transport? Can they assault?
building collapse? Not unless entering them would take the unit closer to the
As the fighter doesn’t use HE weapons, the target unit gets edge than not entering them. They cannot assault.
cover saves as normal and the building doesn’t collapse.
If a unit is in base contact with an empty building but not
In the army lists, some infantry units have the options of entering it, can another unit enter the building (as they would
‘having submachine guns for +4pts per model’ while others technically become less than 1" apart)?
specify ‘replace their rifles with submachine guns for +4pts per A unit can enter a building that has other units in base
model’ or similar wording. Is this an intentional difference? contact with it, and then the controlling player needs to
No, when riflemen get the option of upgrading their weapon move their models out of contact with the building in their
to submachine guns, assault rifles, etc. these weapons replace next move (or assault the building!).
the rifle, or other weapon carried by default, unless the entry
specifies ‘in addition to other weapons’ (in which case they Can you please explain the interaction between the ‘at full
retain both their default weapon and the upgrade). strength’ rule and the Commissar rules? And the Green rule vs
Commissar rule?
Does the tachanka move as a wheeled vehicle? The Commissar rule takes precedence, so the squad re-rolls
Yes, it does. the order test once only. And yes, the Green rule is triggered
by the casualty caused by the commissar.
Can units that have the Green and Shirkers options take both?
Can my officers be mounted on a horse if my force includes
Yes, they can. cavalry units?
Yes, as long as all of your mandatory units in the platoon are
Can units shoot enemies in buildings from floor 1 to floor 2
mounted on horses, you can equip your officer units with
for example?
horses for +3pts per model.
No, they cannot.
When “firing as a light anti-tank gun,” does the 25 pdr receive
Can a SU-76i take armour-piercing ammunition? the +1 to hit bonus for targeting a vehicle with a fire order?
Yes, it can. Similarly, does the ZiS-3 gain the ability to fire indirectly
when “firing as a howitzer”? Does the ZiS-3 get the +1 to hit
Can units outside buildings shoot enemies in buildings if bonus for targeting a vehicle with a fire order if it’s “firing as
another floor of same building has friendly troops? a howitzer”?
No, they cannot. If a gun is “firing as another type of gun”, it uses the rules of the
other type of gun for as long as it’s using that fire mode.
Are heavy automatic cannons heavy guns for the purposes For example, the Zis-3 could use the firing indirectly rule if
of movement? firing as a howitzer, or the +1 to hit if firing as an AT gun,
Yes, they are. but not both at the same time.
®
5
Permission to print for personal use only. © 2025 Warlord Games Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Warlord Games, the Warlord Games logo, Warlord Resin,
Warlord Resin Plus, Bolt Action and the Bolt Action logo are either ® or ™, and/or © Warlord Games Limited, variably registered around the world.
In a Japanese heavy weapons platoon, how many suicide AT When do we deploy Infiltrators in Story Scenarios?
teams can I include? In other words, is it each AT team slot In Story Scenarios, the ‘Start of the Game’ phase is done after
that can become 3 suicide teams, or just the one per platoon? ‘Deployment’ and before ‘First Turn’.
Just one AT team slot per platoon can be replaced by 0-3
suicide teams. Therefore, in a rifle platoon, you can have 0-1 Shooting from Cover, page 87. “If more than 50% of the unit’s
AT rifle team and 0-3 suicide AT teams. In a heavy weapons models are inside dense terrain, but not at the edge, the unit
platoon, you can have either 0-3 AT rifle teams or 0-2 AT can see and shoot out, but their shots will be affected by the
rifle teams and 0-3 suicide AT teams. cover they are in.” Do ALL the models in the unit count for this
purpose, or only the models which are actually shooting?
If a unit with Fieldcraft assaults an enemy in Rough Ground, The ones that are shooting.
does the enemy not gain the Defensive Positions advantage in
close quarters? Is it the intention that units that are not in formation must be
Correct, they do not, so the units strike simultaneously. given Advance or Run orders to regain coherency before they
can be given other orders (presumably other than Down)? Page
Can I fire a rear-facing turret-mounted MMG even if the 64 only states that the unit needs to regain formation when it
main gun does not fire that turn? next moves.
Yes, just (imagine to) rotate the turret to face the direction in Units that are not in formation don’t need to be given any
which you wish to fire the MMG. specific order and continue to function as normal, but when
they next move (for whatever reason), they need to re-
On page 98 column one it says that you should place the centre establish formation.
of the HE template on or between bases of the target unit,
covering as many models as possible and not clip any friendly Do units hit by ‘splash’ (i.e. not the actual target, but rather a
models. On the same page in the second column it says the only nearby unit clipped by HE template as on P137, diagram 23)
two criteria are covering as many models as possible and not take pins? Can they elect to go Down?
clipping any friendly models. Which is it? The first column Only the unit that is the TARGET of an HE shooting attack
implies that if you are targeting a one-model unit you must (i.e. a unit against which a to-hit roll is made) takes pins
place the centre on the model, the second column says you can from being hit. Any other unit ‘clipped’ by the HE template
place the template however you want as long as you hit the may take damage, but does not receive pins. Similarly, a unit
model (no need to have the centre on it). which is ‘clipped’ by an HE template may not go Down as a
When firing HE at a single-model unit, you must place the reaction, as it is not itself being ‘shot at’ by an HE weapon.
template so that the centre is ON the base of the target unit’s
model - as there is only one model, it cannot be ‘between P157: Flamethrowers against buildings. Are the references
bases’! This centre point can be anywhere on the base of that to P140 and 141 incorrect, and should the reference instead
model. So long as the criteria of ‘covering as many models be to P147: Effects of Damage on Passengers?
as possible’ (in this case only one!) and ‘not clipping any Yes, good spot!
friendly models’ are met, the shot is valid, and can end up
clipping other enemy units. Note that in the case of vehicles,
Does Soviet Body Armour apply in close combat?
you must place the template in the centre of the target
instead, as stated on page 137. Yes, it does.
During a ‘You men, snap to action’, can a platoon commander P116 Rookie Pilot: The opponent chooses the new target, but
order just one unit or do they have to order two? who places the aircraft?
Platoon commanders can ‘snap to’ either one or two units. The player controlling the Forward Air Observer that called
in the airstrike places the aircraft token.
Page 147 “The special abilities of officers and other HQ units Officers can use their special abilities on friendly units within
mounted on transports work as normal, as long as they are being range of an opening of a building if the officer is inside the
transported in soft-skinned or open-topped armoured transports.” building. Is the opposite also intended, that officers may only
Does this mean that an observer in an open-topped or soft- affect units inside a building with their special abilities if they
skinned transport can call air strikes and artillery barrages? are in range of an opening?
No, they cannot do that because you would need to issue Yes, we think it’s reasonable to play it this way.
a Fire order to the observer, and you cannot do that on
transported models. That sentence allows the use of passive In missions with Prep Bombardment, when does the Rangers
abilities, which do not require specific orders, like a medic’s Lead the Way special rule occur, as both RLtW and Prep
area of effect, or the ability of an observer to spot for Bombardment happen after set up but it isn’t specified which
indirect-firing units. happens first.
Rangers lead the way is resolved before the Prep Bombardment.
®
6
Permission to print for personal use only. © 2025 Warlord Games Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Warlord Games, the Warlord Games logo, Warlord Resin,
Warlord Resin Plus, Bolt Action and the Bolt Action logo are either ® or ™, and/or © Warlord Games Limited, variably registered around the world.
If we are playing a Top Secret victory condition, and the unit If a unit equipped with two or more flamethrowers hits a
carrying the briefcase rolls a Fubar result, panics and leaves single enemy unit with more than one flamethrower at the
the table, who wins? same time, does the target unit takes an additional D3 pins
per flamethrower that hit it, or a single additional D3 pins?
As this creates a scenario which makes no sense ‘in reality’,
And does the target take a morale check per flamethrower or a
we deem that units carrying the briefcase treat all Panic
single morale check?
results on the Fubar table as Friendly Fire instead.
The target takes a single additional D3 pins, and takes
If a unit is hit by a flamethrower and the flamethrower
a single morale check, regardless of the number of
kills half or more of its men, does the unit take two morale
flamethrowers fired at the same time.
checks or one? Similarly, if a vehicle is hit and damaged by
a flamethrower and the damage result is‘ On Fire’ is a single
morale check taken or two?
In both cases, only one morale check is taken.
If a unit equipped with two or more flamethrowers fires them
at the same time, Does it suffer 1 pin marker, or 1 pin marker
per flamethrower fired?
The firing unit takes a single pin, regardless of the number of
flamethrowers fired at the same time.
12"
Player B
Deployment Zone
®
7
Permission to print for personal use only. © 2025 Warlord Games Ltd. All Rights Reserved. Warlord Games, the Warlord Games logo, Warlord Resin,
Warlord Resin Plus, Bolt Action and the Bolt Action logo are either ® or ™, and/or © Warlord Games Limited, variably registered around the world.