0% found this document useful (0 votes)
936 views6 pages

SMOG Rise of Moloch Unofficial FAQ

This document contains questions and answers about the rules for Nemesis, a board game. It clarifies rules around activation order, using nemesis powers multiple times, attacking with bonuses, controlling allies and converting successful attacks to ether points. Key points covered are that the nemesis always has certain basic power cards, activation must be filled left to right with no gaps, and bonuses can apply to attacks but not base trigger ratings.

Uploaded by

chinkster
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
0% found this document useful (0 votes)
936 views6 pages

SMOG Rise of Moloch Unofficial FAQ

This document contains questions and answers about the rules for Nemesis, a board game. It clarifies rules around activation order, using nemesis powers multiple times, attacking with bonuses, controlling allies and converting successful attacks to ether points. Key points covered are that the nemesis always has certain basic power cards, activation must be filled left to right with no gaps, and bonuses can apply to attacks but not base trigger ratings.

Uploaded by

chinkster
Copyright
© © All Rights Reserved
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
You are on page 1/ 6

SETUP Q101: What happens to the activation card of a

dead agent/ally/minion card?


Q1: Where are the two "basic power chaos cards"? A101: The figure cannot act - obviously, the nemesis
DOES get to activate a Nemesis power.
A1: This is a typo. The Nemesis starts with 2 "Basic
Nemesis Power Cards" AND 2 randomly drawn UNC101: Removed from play unless the figure is
"Chaos Cards" revived?
Q2: What cards get the Nemesis during one time Q102: When does the damsel or other special
setup? figures activate?
A2: He always gets the 2 basic power cards and 2 A102: With the Ally activation card.
random chaos cards plus Q103: After revealing the chaos activation card,
Light Power: +1 chosen power card, 4 Conspiracy can I use all nemesis power cards for no ether
points (to spend on his board. see Intermission) cost?
Medium Power: +2 chosen power card, 8 Conspiracy A103: No. You can use all your powers for one time,
points but you should pay the ether cost for them. (official
answer)
Heavy Power: +4 chosen power card, 10 Conspiracy
points Q104: Does the Nemesis activate all minions with
the minion activation card?
Q3: Do Agents start scenarios with Ether like
Gentlemen do? A104: Yes, all of them. Page 16: "activate ALL figures
of that group, in any desired order."
A3: Yes
Even if there are multiple types of minion, they ALL
Q4: I could not find the dashboard or card for activate.
Dismembered Zombies or Royal Guard Zombies?
I am missing an Agent card? Q105: Does the Nemesis play always have the
Chaos Activation card?
A4: Check the backs of the agent cards, some are
variations, some are completely different. i.e. A105: Yes
Dismembered and Royal Guard are front/back of the Q106: On the chaos activation can I activate cards
same card. that have already been activated before?
Some cards are simply stuck back to back and A106: Yes, but only once this activation. (assuming
because of the thin cardboard it is not always visible you can meet other requirements like ether points
at first sight. etc)
Q5: Where do Ether points go when the Nemesis On ANY Nemesis activation, you may activate one
gets them? Nemesis power card, providing you can pay the
A5: They must be placed on an Agent or on a power ether etc.
card. On the Chaos activation, you may activate any
UNC5: Starting Ether set goes to the Ether pool. number, including those previously activated this
round, provided you can pay the ether.
Q6: Can a Gentleman keep equipment across
scenarios even if not played in a follow-up Chaos cards are activated quite independently, and
scenario? are usually marked as "anytime", which means at any
time, not just during the Nemesis players turn.
A6: Yes.
But it would be considered bad form to play the first
scenario with particular Gentlemen just so you can ATTACKS
trade the equipment to others.
However, if you have traded - then I think the trade Q201: Can ranged attacks be made on adjacent
still applies in the next scenario. figures?
Q7: If a Gentleman uses a piece of equipment in A201: Yes. In fact page 18: "If the Gentleman has any
one scenario, do they get it back in the next? adjacent enemies, they must choose one of those as
A7: No. Nor do they get another one if it wasn't used. the target of the Ranged Attack, if possible."
For example, if Major Dreadful drinks his whiskey I Q202: Can you give your attack several different
don't think he get's it back. attack boosts?
A202: You can apply however many boosts are
relevant to an attack.
ACTIVATIONS
Q203: Can you use as many free attacks as you
want?
Q100: Does the activation order have to filled left A203: Yes, if it is a "bonus action".
to right with no gaps?
A100: Yes
Q204: If you have 0 attack (melee or ranged) and the start of the figures activation and if they move
you have bonus attack points, can you attack:? into a square with fire on it.
A204: Yes Q214: If I have multiple Attack/Defense boosts do
Q205: Minions/Allies attack as a group, how do those effects stack?
you decide on line of sight? What about mixed A214: If the boosts grant additiona effects - Yes. But,
types of minions? if the effect would replace the result - No.
A205: To be able to join the group attack, the minion Q215: Does the Charge Action need to be a
must be able to attack - i.e. line of sight must apply, straight line?
walls still prevent melee etc. A215: No - any valid move, you cannot start adjacent
A205: A minion which could support 2 attacks, must and you must end adjacent.
be assigned to one only of the group attacks. Q216: Spread Attack: "The Attack may target up
A205: In mixed attacks, the Nemesis decides on a to 1 additional enemy in a square adjacent to the
"primary" attacked target (that's not on the other side of an
A205: A minion can only attack once, whoever he impassable edge).
attacks. A) Can a melee Spread attack target a figure that is
A205: When some attacks have cover and some do adjacent to the original target, but not adjacent to
not, roll Attack/Defense dice accordingly - this is still the attacker?
a single attack. B) Can a short-range, shooting Spread attack target a
UNC205: To make all the edge cases work, I think the figure that is adjacent to the original target, but is
player has to choose the lead minion/agent and out of short range?
which minions are supporting. C) Can a shooting Spread attack target a figure
UNC205: Not all minions need to group attack. adjacent to the original target, but out of the
shooter's line of sight?
Q206: What is the result of a crown on a dice for
an ally or minion? UNC216: No to all, the key word is "target", if the
attacker cannot target, then the spread cannot reach
A206: Everybody hits on a crown! Crowns also let the adjacent enemy.
Gentleman (not allies) swap the hit for ether.
Q207: Can I add bonuses to special attacks like
Spectral Bolt? CONTROLLING
A207: Yes, bonuses can apply, but not the base
trigger rating. Q301: When you take control of another
Q208: Does Colonel Steel's gift allow him to reroll character, can you boost the attack you make
only his attacks on the agent, or ANY attack from with their buffs that require ether, and who's
anyone on that agent? ether do you spend?
A208: His Gift states that HE re-rolls attacks targeting A301: No, you cannot spend another character's
that Agent, not ALL FRIENDLY GENTS. ether.
Q209: Does Titus passive stack? I mean on 10 Q302: Can the Gentleman's attack bonuses of any
damage does he get both an extra action and 2+ sort be used with controlling an Ally?
attack dice? A302: No, they are his bonuses alone.
A209: These effects are not linked to each other. If he Q303: If a Gentleman is controlling an Ally and
has 6+ he gets the first one, if he has 10+ he gets rolls crowns, can they convert the crowns to
both. ether?
Q210: Lady Widow has 4 trigger 0 punch, but no A303: No. Only the Gentlemen can convert ether, not
ranged weapon at start. Does that mean that she allies.
can't attack anyone unless she spends ether for Q304: If a Gentleman is controlling another
her gift or gramophone? Gentleman and rolls crowns, can they convert the
A210: You can only make a Ranged Attack if you crowns to ether?
have a Ranged Weapon - so no she cannot attack. A304: Yes. The Gentlemen being controlled, i.e.
Q211: What happens to Ethers on an agent when making the attack, can convert ether, but not the
he dies? controlling Gentleman.
A211: They are lost. Q305: You are the leader, bonus action. "Make 1
Q212: Can you make several single attacks action with a gentleman in line of sight" Is this an
instead of a group attack? additional action?
A212: No. Any attack against a single Gentleman/Ally A305: Yes, it clearly says "bonus action".
must be a group attack by 1 or more minions. Q306: Can Emma Swanson use her symbiotic link
But, Minions able to group attack two or more bonus action when activated by another player?
gentleman can only attack one of them, the Nemesis UNC306: Yes, if she is ACTIVATED.
decides. No, if she is using an action i.e. the Leader bonus
Minions though cannot make several individual action. Then it is a bonus action for Emma only. This
attacks against the same gentleman. applies to all Gentleman bonus actions.
Q213: If you light a fire under a figure do they
take a point of damage?
A213: No, not immediately. Fire causes damage at
GEAR AND ARTEFACTS KNOCKED DOWN

Q401: Can you trade starting weapons during a Q501: When a figure is knocked down, can I make
chapter? another attack against the same figure?
A401: If its not hard-printed on their sheet you can A501: Yes
trade anything. If its done during play it must be a Q501: When a figure is knocked down, can it
Trade Action. counter attack?
Q402: Do Gentlemen choose they starting A501: No
equipment and upgrade cards?
Q503: When a figure is knocked down, can it take
A402: Choose an upgrade, random equipment. the recover action?
Q403: Rulebook says that before the chapter A503: No
Gents can trade gear, artefacts and items among
them. When does this happen? "Before it can take ANY OTHER ACTION, the target
must spend 1 action to stand up."
A403: It is before the start of a Chapter. This would
be after Intermission. Q504: When a figure is knocked down, can it use
the special skill "evasion" ?
Q404: When taking a Gear, Arsenal or Artefact
card - do I choose or is it random? A504: Yes, it is a skill not an action.
A404: Random. But Upgrades are chosen.
Q405: Does the use of objects take an action?
UNC405: No, unless otherwise stated. MISC
Q406: Gear cards in general, can they be used
only on your activation? With some obvious Q601: How much Escape Damage?
exceptions, like Steel top hat? Namely can you A601: 1 point for EACH square adjacent to an enemy,
use First Aid Kit after an agent attacks you and regardless of the number of enemies.
before he attacks you again? i.e. If you start on the adjacent square south of the
A406: Gear can be used anytime. Repeat, from enemy:
designers comments on kickstarter GEAR CAN BE (1) Move to square East, take 1 point damage for
USED ANYTIME. leaving South square
Q407: How many items can a character use a (2) Move to square North, take 1 point damage for
Bonus Action? leaving East square
A407: Only once per activation. (3) Move North once more, take 1 point damage for
Q408: Hook's hand artefact. Gives you an extra leaving North square
attack with +2 dice. Can you use attack boosts on In other words walking around an enemy takes 3
it? Spend Ether? points of damage.
A408: It's an extra attack, it follows all the rules for Also, squeezing between two enemies costs you 3
attacking as it doesn't say anything otherwise. points of damage, no multiple damage just because
Q409: Knight's "Guardian" upgrade. Gentlemen there are two or more enemies.
can only use 1 bonus action per turn. If he/she Q602: What does adjacent mean?
already used 1 bonus action, can he/she still use
this? A602: All the 8 orthogonally or diagonally adjacent
squares. True for attacks, escape damage etc.
A409: You can only use EACH Bonus Action once per
round. Q603: What do the boxes do?
Q410: Pr. Sawbone has to draw 1 random artefact A603: Generally act as Impassable Squares - scenario
at the start of the game and if he uses it he gets a specific rules might apply.
new random artefact. If he uses this new artefact Q604: Are minions useless?
does he get another? A604: No, they are terrific blockers because of Escape
UNC410: No, it appears to trigger only once. Damage if nothing else. They also can be activated
Q411: Tesla blade is a melee weapon, but the more than once using chaos cards. They are much
ether effect gives you +trigger, does that mean it stronger than they first appear.
is a ranged weapon when paying ether? Q605: Does Winston the dog have to be with his
A411: The Weapon Effect creates a +3 Short Ranged owner to get the benefits?
atack. A605: There is no separate Winston, the owner gets
Q412: Can you cover equipment printed on the the card like any other item. There is a figure in the
Gentleman's dashboard? Arcanist box, but is not separate from his owner.
A412: No, it is considered an integral part of the Q606: What is the purpose of the round marker.
Gentleman Does the game end at the end of 8th round?
UNC606: The game does not end automatically after
the 8th round, scenario rules may specify something
different.
Q607: When chapter objectives have been met, flaming zombies?
does the game end immediately? A806: Tough, you lose a zombie - don't do it.
A607: The game ends at the end of the round. This Q807: Does the Nemesis keep power cards
can lead to situations where both sides have some between chapters?
sort of victory.
UNC807: Nemesis keeps all power cards from the
Q608: Coins? previous chapter. i.e.
NOTE: When you unpack your big box of goodies, Chapter 1 : 3 nemesis power card (included the basic
make sure to grab the little bag of plastic coins loose ones)
in the box. I almost threw mine away because
everything else is boxed up, and these are just in the Chapter 2 : 4 nemesis power card
bottom all alone. Chapter 3 : 5 nemesis power card
Q609: Can the Bobbies use the fire extinguisher Chapter 4 : 6 nemesis power card
in Scenario 1? Chapter 5 : 6 nemesis power card (you can add one
A609: Yes. Cost is 1 agility point. new if you remove one old)
Q610: When can the Gentlemen use the Revive Chapter 6 : 6 nemesis power card (you can add one
Action? new if you remove one old)
A610: Revive can only be used on a Neutralized Q808: Can the Nemesis spawn more Minions than
Gentleman. they began with in the Chapter?
A808: Yes, up to the limit of the box.
MOVEMENT Q809: The Nemesis Agent Damon has the
following special rule: "Long Legs: when
Outdoors, Damon has +2 Agility."
Q701: Can you split agility points over actions, i.e.
move, fight, move? What happens if Damon starts an Agility action
outdoors, but moves indoors as part of that
A701: No action?
Q702: Can all Gentleman, Agents, Minions and UNC809: He starts at 4 if starting outdoors, but it
Allies climb through windows for 2 points? drops to 2 if he moves (or attempts to move) indoors
A702: Yes. Page 16: "Move Through a Window: A (important in at least one scenario).
figure must spend 2 Agility points to move through a He starts at 2 if starting indoors, no change on
Window." moving to outdoors.

NEMESIS SCENARIOS

Q801: On chaos cards maked "anytime" - when is Q901: Core box Scenario 1: Can the Bobbies pick
anytime? up the fire extinguisher?
UNC801: During the Nemesis activation, not during A901: Yes, and it takes 1 agility point to use it.
the Gentleman's activation.
Q902: The Dragon Scenario 2: Does the ghost
There are some cards which specific during the move using its agility or does it teleport?
Gentleman's turn though.
A902: He/It teleports. In this scenario all his stats are
ignored.
Q802: Misfire! torment card. Can the Nemesis still Q903: The Dragon Scenario 2: If you use chaos
attack if a Gent doesn't have a ranged weapon? If cards to spawn minions, what do you spawn?
yes, what if a Gent has 0 trigger total?
UNC903: More Corrupted Bobbies if you have mini's
A802: Rules for Ranged Attacks state you must have for them.
a Ranged Weapon. Card doesn't say it ignores that.
Q904: The Embassy: Does not mention the basic
Nemesis power cards in setup, do you still use
Q803: Killer clowns. Funny bone passive. Does he them?
ignore the damage or is automatically killed from A904: Yes. The Basic Power cards are automatic for
something like Knight upgrade "Out of my way!"? every setup.
A803: The effect specifically states Attacks. "Out of Q905: The Nemesis can only take Upgrades from
My Way" is an Action. It is not an Attack. the ones that come with The Embassy - what
Q804: Does Nemesis discard all unused Ether at upgrades?
the end of chapter? A905: They mean Nemesis Power cards
A804: Yes, there is no carry-over, but a full reset Q906: Core box Scenario 1: states “Were Tobias or
according to the new chapters setup. Emerson neutralized? A906: (If Yes). The Body
Q805: The chaos card "death from below" allows was never found. Next Chapter, the formally-slain
me to spawn 3 minions - do they have to be Agent counts as a Zombie and may perform only
minions that the scenario includes? 1 Action when activated this way.” What does this
A805: Yes. Only minions listed in the scenario setup mean?
can be spawned. A906: This is in specific reference to Ira Kodich’s
Q806: What if a shambling zombie goes to a Command Undead ability. During their normal
square with fire and I don't have any more Activation, Tobias/Emmerson act as normal,
including their 2 Actions. If they are activated via given type, if you have no figures you cannot spawn
Command Undead (since they are now Zombies) them.
they will only perform 1 Action, rather than a full Q1002: Does entering the stage or spawning
Activation. count as an action?
Q907: Core Box Scenario 3: the Barricade, does A1002: No
only Sutcliffe benefit from its “can only be
attacked with Melee Attacks” or any figure on it? Q1003: Can you spawn minions next to an agent,
but through a window?
A0907: Any figure
UNC1003: Yes
Q908: Core Box Scenario 3: Escape With the
Fragment, “If a Gentleman is standing on an Exit
square, the Agent may not escape until that WINDOWS AND DOORS
Gentleman is Neutralized”. Does this mean that if
any Gentleman is standing on any Exit square, no Q1101: Is it possible to attack diagonally through
Agent can escape the board? windows and doors?
A908: No, that text is referring to that specific Exit A1101: Yes, for Ranged attacks.
square, not all Exit Squares.
Q1102: Is it possible to extend fire diagonally
Q909: Core Box Scenario 4: Sewers, “The manhole through windows and doors?
squares at the Overlay 11B count as Sewer
Plates.” What does this mean? A1102: Yes
A909: These spaces specifically interact with cards Q1103: Is it possible to move diagonally through
that deal with Sewers, such as the Chaos Card “From windows and doors?
the Depths”. On their own they have no effect. A1103: Yes
Q910: Can Tobias trigger Spare Parts from taking Q1104: Can you make a melee attack through a
Escape Damage? window?
A910: Yes. A1104: Yes
Q1150: Can Allies and Minions open doors?
SPAWNING A1150: Yes
Q1160: Can Allies and Minions go through
Q1001: Am I restricted to the number of figures I windows?
have in the box? A1160: Yes
A1001: Yes. Even if you have cards, scenarios or rules
which allow you to spawn additional minions of a

The World of SMOG: Rise of Moloch – The Rules to Remember


1) If there is one or more enemy figures adjacent
to you, then you can only use your ranged attack 5) While a figure is knocked down, it does not
to target one of the adjacent enemies unless you deal Escape damage to enemies who walk past it
choose to move away from them. and it does not provide Cover to its allies.

2) When you use the “Spread“ skill then you can only 6) When a figure is possessed by an enemy, the
attack an additional target that is adjacent to your enemy cannot make use of Ether of the possessed
primary target. figure.
In case of a melee attack, the additional target also
needs to be adjacent to the attacker.
7) A Gentleman can use one of his actions to
In case of a ranged attack, the additional target Revive an adjacent Neutralized Gentleman.
needs to be in the attacker‘s Line of Sight (not
behind a wall, a box etc.). Cover does not apply if the 8) Upon Revival, the revived Gentleman restores
additional target stands behind the primary target. all of his HP and removes all Torment Cards.
In case of a short ranged attack, the additional target
does not need to be within the reach of the short 9) A figure can use Charge onto any target that is
ranged attack as long as it is adjacent to the primary in its Line of Sight - even if an enemy figure
target who must be within the reach of the short stands in the way. Escape damage applies as
range attack (i.e. within 4 spaces from the attacker). usual. Charging through windows is also
possible.
3) When a Gentleman uses the Recover action,
he/she can also heal the damage on his/her items. 10) Gentlemen can attack each other.

4) When a figure is knocked down, it can still roll 11) Gear and Artefacts possessed by Gentlemen
for defense and even make use of the Evasion can only be used during their activation, unless
skill (but cannot use Counterattack). stated otherwise on the card.
12) When a Gentleman uses items such as Arson Charge) but cannot use ether for bonus actions.
Coctail, he/she does not add his base attack to the
attack roll. There is a difference between a “3“ and a
“+3“ attack. 19) During the WRAP-UP phase all outdoor fires
are extinguished (due to the perpetual rain).
However new fires can spread from indoors to
13) Whenever Minions want to attack a target outdoors once again and remain there until the
then they have to attack TOGETHER. They cannot WRAP-UP phase.
split their attacks onto the same target.
20) A figure that is controlled by an enemy (for
14) When you use ranged “Counterattack“ whilst example by the Possession Upgrade) does not
being adjacent to an enemy figure, you MUST suffer Escape Damage but can suffer damage
attack the original attacker as you cannot attack from Fire.
the adjacent enemy whilst counterattacking.
21) When controlling an enemy, you cannot make
15) Special Actions can be used twice during an use of its Ether or of its items that require discarding.
Activation while the Bonus Actions can only be used You can only make use of the bonuses of the Arsenal
once. they carry and which cost no Ether to be used.

16) When a Gentlemen should be Knocked down 22) When Gentlemen use their Ether, they must
while also receiving the torment card Refuse to Fall, pass it to the Nemesis who then allocates it either
then he/she would remain standing but wouldn’t be to an Agent or onto his Power Cards.
able to make use of the card’s bonus.
23) When Nemesis neutralizes a Gentleman, the
17) Lady Widow’s Gramophone ignores the standard Nemesis receives 2 Ether into his Ether reserve.
Line of Sight rules. The same applies for Tchukurka’s
Otherwordly Inspiration. However, the Arcanist
Upgrade card Possession has to follow the Line of 24) Effects that enable you to teleport around the
Sight rules. map cannot be used on a character that has a quest
item or/and has the quest goal to escape through an
exit.
18) When making an action with a Gentleman via the
Leader bonus action, the Gentleman can make use of
its ether for attack boosts or special skills (such as

You might also like