Mobile App Performance Assessement - FINAL
Mobile App Performance Assessement - FINAL
PERFORMANCE
ASSESSMENT
MOBILE APP
PERFORMANCE
ASSESSMENT
Mobile app development is an iterative process
where incremental improvements are critical to
ensuring longevity and continued success, but
how many of us know what needs to be improved?
With over ten years of experience in the app development sector, we
know we do. Our mobile app performance assessment tool will help
you analyze your existing app's business and technical impact,
enabling you to see how your app performs against your business
objectives and where you are missing the mark. With recommended
next steps, this assessment tool will help guide future decisions as
you continue to capitalize on today's digital consumer.
Having successfully developed and delivered more
than 250 apps for iOS, Android, and Smart TV
platforms for some of the world's top enterprises,
we know that it takes more than just having an app in the market to
drive real business value. Although most enterprises already have an
app in either one or both of today's top app stores, we know that
many do not see the ROI they expected. This fact was one of the
main drivers behind us, creating this mobile app performance
assessment tool.
USER ACQUISITION
1. How many users install your app a day?
POINTS:
O 5 1O 15 2O 25
100 to 500 500 to 1000 1000 to 1500 1500 to 2000 2000 to 2500 2500+
0 to 2500 2500 to 5000 5000 to 7500 7500 to 10,000 10,000 to 12,500 12,500+
40–69 Most enterprise apps fall into this tier. You’re doing well but are still in the
middle of the pack. While increasing marketing efforts may help move the
needle to stand out from your competition, we suggest you focus on your
bounce rate for signups. If a large percentage of your users are bouncing
on registration, review the process and reduce friction. Try A/B testing
your signup order fields to find a way to reduce the bounce rate.
To learn how Clearbridge Mobile can help reduce your bounce rate,
contact us here.
Things seem to be going well, but there is always room for improvement. If
70+ you’ve ranked in this tier, we recommend reviewing your bounce rate
analytics and consider making some small tweaks. Be sure to test any
changes out on a small portion of your users before making things
available to your entire user base.
To learn how Clearbridge Mobile can help improve your bounce rate,
contact us here.
USER RETENTION
6. How many daily active users (DAUs) does your app have?
POINTS:
O 5 1O 15 2O 25
0% to 15% 15% to 30% 30% to 45% 45% to 60% 60% to 75% 75%+
7. How many monthly active users (MAUs) does your app have?
POINTS:
O 5 1O 15 2O 25
0% to 15% 15% to 30% 30% to 45% 45% to 60% 60% to 75% 75%+
I’m not sure Under 30 sec 30 sec to 1 min 1 to 3 minutes 3 to 5 minutes 5+ minutes
Your user retention is not where it should be for you to see any ROI from
0–39 your app. We recommend focusing your efforts on engagement
strategies. Have you considered a push notification strategy to drive
customers back to your app? You must review your analytics to
understand how users are using the app to understand what features and
content is working or not. If you don’t have the analytics in place to do this,
we advise you to contact our team to find out how we can help you
leverage analytics to drive engagement and retention.
40–69 Although your user retention is average, your focus should be on refining
your engagement strategy. Some key questions you should be asking
yourself are: Do users have the ability to personalize aspects of the app
when engaged? Is it possible to start a strategy to encourage permissions
being granted for push notifications? Incorporating personalization and
push notifications into your overall engagement strategy can quickly lift
your user retention numbers and contribute to a more significant ROI.
Here is our guide on How to Design a User-Centric Push Notifications
Strategy, or contact us here for more information on push notifications.
You seem to be doing a great job at driving longer app sessions and don’t
70+ have an issue with frequently getting your users to interact with your app.
To gain a more significant advantage against your competition, we
recommend offering hyper-personalized experiences to your users. 80%
of consumers are more likely to purchase from a brand that provides
personalized experiences, and 91% of consumers say they are more likely
to shop with brands that offer offers and recommendations relevant to
them. Try providing targeted content to your users to deliver incremental
value.
For more on hyper-personalization, here is our latest blog on 3 Ways to
Convert and Retain Your Enterprise App Users with Personalization, or
contact us here.
Find out how we’ve helped enterprise companies like Dynacare, Groupe Média TFO, New
England Sports Network and others achieve their user acquisition and retention goals here.
REVENUE IMPACT
*Note this section of the audit is not ranked. Instead, this section should inform you of what key revenue
metrics you should be monitoring to assess your app’s profitability and ROI. Use the formulas to calculate
your answers, and if you don’t arrive at the results you expect or want, we highly recommend you to
contact our team.
10. How would you describe your user acquisition costs?
Too High
Ideal
Too Low
MC + W + S + OS + OH
UAC = where:
UA
MC is marketing costs
OS is outsourced services
UA is users acquired
11. How high is your app’s churn rate?
Too High
Ideal
Too Low
Churn rate simply refers to the percentage of users who stop using an app within a particular time
period.
How to calculate churn rate
A churn rate formula looks like this:
Too High
Ideal
Too Low
Referral value is the sum value of new users that a customer refers to your app.
How to calculate churn rate
A referral value formula looks like this:
1
RV = AR x ARPU x where:
CR
RV is referral value
Too High
Ideal
Too Low
ARPU
LTV = + RV
CHURN
If an app’s average user generates $1.5 per month and after 30 days, the app’s retention rate is 30%,
then on average, 10 users bring in one additional user to install the app (so a user brings 0.1 new app
users on average). The referral value then multiplies this value by ARPU/Churn.
ARPU = $1.5
Churn = 0.7
Referral value = $1.5/0.7 x $0.01
LTV = $1.5/0.7 + $0.214 = $2.354
In this example, if user acquisition costs are lower than $2.35, then the app has a healthy LTV and a
positive return on investment.
16. How long does it take your application to load its first screen? (Device Performance)
POINTS:
O 5 1O 15 2O
17. How long does it take your application to become usable and interactive?
POINTS:
O 5 1O 15 2O
18. How long does it take your application to become fully functional?
POINTS:
O 5 1O 15 2O
If you are ranking in this tier, your mobile app is severely underperforming
0–39 and most likely experiencing a combination of latency issues and frequent
app crashes. Customers expect mobile apps and most digital experiences
to produce results in less than three seconds. Anything longer is a poor
experience, and customers will abandon your app. One way to quickly
address this issue, especially if your product needs to wait for a server
response, is to display a loading indicator to inform the user that it is
working.
Looking to address latency issues? Find out how our services can help.
40–69 If you are ranking in this tier, you should consider scaling your APIs and
cloud infrastructure to reduce latency. We recommend scaling APIs with
cloud infrastructure like AWS Lambda or Azure Functions to leverage
serverless infrastructure.
Not sure where to start? Get in contact with our team of experts here.
If you are ranking in this tier, your app performs well, but there is always
70+ room for improvement. Chances are, you are still experiencing some
latency issues. We recommend looking into your power and battery usage
to address these issues. Managing CPU usage by optimizing your product’s
code by choosing the best-performing algorithms, for example, will
minimize the device’s CPU usage and improve battery life overall. We also
recommend selectively choosing APIs that can be optimized with cloud
infrastructure like AWS Lambda or Azure Functions.
For information on APIs and cloud infrastructure get in contact with our
team of experts here.
Find out how we’ve helped enterprise companies like Gerdau, Crohn’s and Colitis Canada,
Participaction and others launch high performing mobile apps here.
USER EXPERIENCE
*Note this section of the audit is not ranked. If your answer to most of these questions is "No," this
section will enable you to think more about some of the strategies and techniques you should be
implementing to improve your user experience.
User experience is what sets your app apart. This process begins with user personas and onboarding to
drive home value and ensure you address your users' needs. If your app experience does not cause your
app ratings and reviews, most of your app reviews are probably not good. If you are in this circumstance,
you should consider prompting customers to review when a positive action happens in the app. This
strategy drives the rating by balancing it with negative reviews.
Yes No
21. Do you believe your user personas are an accurate reflection of the audience who actually uses the app?
Yes No
Yes No
23. Does the design of your app take into consideration standard accessibility guidelines?
(visual impairments, kinetic impairments, etc.)
Yes No
24. Is your app optimized for the full range of devices, screen resolutions, and operating system
releases for your respective platform?
Yes No
25. How many users take what you would describe as an important action in your app? (This is relative
to the type of app you have and the success metrics you’ve established. An important action could be
registering an account, making a purchase, sharing content, logging information, paying for a
subscription, engaging with a core feature, etc.)
Yes No
27. Are there functions, features, or screens in your app that never get used?
Yes No
29. How would you describe the sentiment of your app’s reviews?
If you’re ready to chat about your app's next evolution or want to dive deeper into what
improvement areas you should prioritize, click here to book a consultation.
ABOUT Clearbridge Mobile is an award-winning full-stack mobile app development
company that provides user-centric design and engineering services to
CLEARBRIDGE the world’s top enterprises, helping them meet their digital initiatives.
MOBILE Clearbridge Mobile is dedicated to building better, healthier relationships
between you and your customers with best-in-class mobile solutions.
With more than 250 apps successfully delivered for enterprise clients
like Dynacare, Crohn’s and Colitis Canada, Participaction, Bell Canada,
TD Bank, and Rogers Communications, Clearbridge Mobile is the right
partner to help you meet your digital initiatives.
CONTACT
INFORMATION