0% found this document useful (0 votes)
146 views3 pages

2012-13 Refresher Exam

This document contains 47 multiple choice questions that test knowledge of international basketball rules regarding violations, fouls, timeouts, substitutions and other technical aspects of the game. The questions cover scenarios that may occur during games and ask how officials should properly rule on the plays based on FIBA rules.

Uploaded by

StarLink1
Copyright
© Attribution Non-Commercial (BY-NC)
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
0% found this document useful (0 votes)
146 views3 pages

2012-13 Refresher Exam

This document contains 47 multiple choice questions that test knowledge of international basketball rules regarding violations, fouls, timeouts, substitutions and other technical aspects of the game. The questions cover scenarios that may occur during games and ask how officials should properly rule on the plays based on FIBA rules.

Uploaded by

StarLink1
Copyright
© Attribution Non-Commercial (BY-NC)
We take content rights seriously. If you suspect this is your content, claim it here.
Available Formats
Download as PDF, TXT or read online on Scribd
You are on page 1/ 3

2012-13 ABOA REFRESHER EXAM 1. A violation is committed for illegally returning the ball to the backcourt.

Shall the resulting throw-in be administered at the centre line extended, opposite the scorers table? 2. A final free-throw by A2 does not touch the ring or enter the basket. Shall play resume with a Team B throw-in at the free-throw line extended? 3. While the ball is in the air on a successful last free throw by A2, A4 and B4 commit a double foul. Shall play resume with an alternating possession throw-in? 4. A1 who is straddling the mid-court line catches a pass from A2 from the Team A backcourt. Shall the official stop the 8second count? 5. With 1:39 remaining in the extra quarter, Team B commits a traveling violation in their frontcourt. Team A is awarded a throw-in in their backcourt and then is granted a time-out. Shall the resulting throw-in be taken at the mid-court line extended, opposite the scorers table? 6. B3 commits an unsportsmanlike foul against A3 who is injured and is replaced by substitute A6. May any Team A player who was on the playing court at the time of the A3 injury attempt the resulting free-throws? 7. A2 has control of the ball in Team As frontcourt, when B4 taps the ball out of A2s hands and the ball rolls into Team As backcourt. Shall the 8-second count start as soon as any Team A player touches the ball? 8. A2 is dribbling the ball from his backcourt and ends his dribble holding the ball and straddling the centre line. A2 then passes the ball to A1 who is also straddling the centre line. Is this action legal? 9. In Team As frontcourt, A1 passes to A2, but B1 deflects the ball out of bounds. The shot clock shows 9 seconds. On Team As throw-in, shall the shot clock be reset to 14? 10. A1 is setting a screen against defender B1. Must A1 face B1 for the screen to be legal? 11. Team As assistant coach is standing during a live ball and Team As head coach is seated. As long as the assistant coach is not addressing the officials is this legal? 12. Team A is granted a time-out. After 25 seconds into the time-out, Team A is ready to play. Shall play resume immediately? 13. A3 is awarded 2 free throws plus possession because of an unsportsmanlike foul by B5. The official hands A3 the ball for the first free throw and before A3 can release the ball, the official calls a technical foul on A4. The official rules that the two penalties cancel each other. Is the official correct? 14. With 1:23 to play in the fourth quarter, the ball is in the hands of an official who is just about to put the ball at the disposal of A3 for a throw-in. B5 causes contact with A2. The official calls an unsportsmanlike foul on B5. Is the official correct? 15. On a throw-in by A4, A4 hands the ball to A5 who is on the playing court. Is this a violation? 16. A4 releases a try for goal. While the ball is in the air, a double foul against A5 and B5 is called with 6 seconds remaining on the 24-second device. The ball does not enter the basket nor does it touch the ring. The alternating possession arrow favours Team A. Team A is awarded a throw-in. Should there be only 6 seconds remaining on the 24-second clock? 17. Technical fouls are committed by A2 and then by coach A. May either team substitute following the completion of the penalty for the foul by A2? 18. A5s try for goal is in the air when the 24-second signal sounds. The ball then lodges on the basket support. Team A is entitled to the next alternating possession throw-in. Shall an alternating possession throw-in be awarded to Team A?

19. At the beginning of the game, jumper A1 taps the ball directly out of bounds and Team B is awarded a throw-in. On the throw-in by B2, A2 is the first player to gain possession of the live ball on the playing surface. Shall the possession arrow now favour Team B? 20. A1 ends a dribble with one foot on the floor. Is that foot considered to be A1s pivot foot? 21. With 1:28 remaining in the last quarter A4 scores a field goal. The ball, after passing through the net, strikes a players foot and rolls to the opposite end of the court. The official sounds his whistle and goes to retrieve the ball. Team A requests a time out. Shall the request be granted? 22. A3 is awarded 2 free throws. The first free throw is bouncing on the rim and still has a chance to enter the basket when B5 slaps the ball away from the rim. The official counts the free throw. Should the official also assess a technical foul to B5? 23. Team A is in control of the ball in the frontcourt with 3 seconds remaining in the 24-second device. A technical foul is called against coach B followed by a technical foul against A3. Play resumes with a Team A throw-in. Shall the shot clock remain at 3 seconds? 24. Play is interrupted because of an injury to A1 who is not able to play immediately. Team B is granted a time out. After the time out, A1 is ready to play. Shall A1 be allowed to play at this time? 25. On a last free throw, if the free thrower violates and there is no disconcertion, shall violations by the opponents be disregarded? 26. While A1 has the ball out of bounds for an alternating possession throw-in, teammate A2 commits a foul. The ball is awarded to Team B for a throw-in. Team B completes the throw-in. Shall the possession arrow now favour Team B? 27. During a throw-in by Team A, with 3 seconds left on the 24-second device, the ball is in-bounded and deflected by B4. The game clock starts and as the ball bounces freely on the floor, the 24-second device counts down to 0 second and the signal sounds. Has Team A committed a 24-second violation? 28. A1 ends a dribble and releases the ball on a try for goal. The ball completely misses the ring and is not touched by anyone before A1 retrieves the ball and starts a dribble. Is the official correct in calling a violation? 29. A1 commits his 5th player foul. In the judgment of the official, there is an unreasonable delay in replacing A1. Team A has one time out left in the half. Shall a technical foul be charged to the coach of Team A for delay of game? 30. With 1:32 remaining in the 4th period, Team A is scored upon and is granted a substitution. Team B then requests a time-out. Shall the time out be granted to Team B? 31. B5 commits an unsportsmanlike foul on A5. Coach A and Coach B are then charged with a technical foul. Shall the penalties for the technical fouls cancel each other? 32. Team B has possession of the ball in the restricted area under Team As basket when B5 and A5 begin to fight with each other. The officials eject both players and resume play with a Team B throw-in from behind the end line nearest to the balls location when the whistle sounded. Is this correct? 33. A3 is dribbling the ball from the back court to the front court. A3 has both feet in his front court while dribbling the ball in the back court. In an attempt to change direction, A3 dribbles the ball behind his back. The ball strikes the back of his leg and bounces into the back court. A1 moves into the back court and picks up the ball. Is this a legal play? 34. During the interval of play between the 1rst and 2nd periods, A10, who has not yet played, is charged with a technical foul. Shall the technical foul count as one of the fouls leading to the team penalty in the following period as well as one of the five fouls leading to A10s having to leave the game?

35. A3 fouls B3. This is Team As fifth team foul in the period. The officials erroneously award a throw -in to Team B. After the throw-in, B2 dribbles and scores a basket. Before the ball becomes live again, the officials recognize the error and award B3 two free throws followed by a Team A throw-in. Is this correct? 36. A1 is awarded two free throws. Before the ball is placed at the disposal of A1 for his last free throw, A10 requests to substitute for A3. Shall the substitution be permitted at this time? 37. A1 commits an unsportsmanlike foul on B1. B1 misses both free throws. Before the ball is put at the disposal of a Team B player for the throw-in, Coach A requests a time-out. Shall the request be granted at this time? 38. Airborne shooter A1 releases the ball, lands on one foot, and charges into B1 who is in a legal position. Is this a team control foul? 39. During the pre-game warm-up, A3 is charged with a technical foul. After the free throws, shall Team B be awarded a throw-in at midcourt? 40. Team A has control of the ball in its back court. A held ball is called. The possession arrow favours Team A. There are 3 seconds left in the 8-second count. When a Team A player takes control of the inbound pass in his back court, shall the official start a new 8-second count? 41. A4 releases a try for goal. The 24-second signal sounds after which B4 deflects the ball while it is still in its upward flight. Does the ball become dead immediately? 42. B10 has requested to substitute for free throw shooter B4. B4 violates during the last attempt. May B10 now enter the game for B4? 43. Following a try by A4, the ball is bouncing above the rim when A5 commits a foul. The ball then enters the basket. Shall the goal count? 44. After 50 seconds have elapsed in a charged time-out, the timekeeper sounds the warning horn. Ten seconds later, the timekeeper sounds the horn to indicate the end of the time-out. B-10 then reports to replace B4. Shall B10 be allowed to enter the game? 45. While holding the ball, A3 is being closely guarded by B2 who has both feet on the floor and is facing A3. B2 does not allow sufficient room for A3 to pivot without contact. A3 pivots and hits B2 in the torso. Shall A3 be responsible for the contact? 46. With 6 seconds expired of the 8 seconds to advance the ball from his back court, A4, from his back court, deliberately bounces the ball off the leg of B4 who is in Team As front court. The ball bounces back to A4 who recovers the ball in his back court. Does A4 have a new 8-second count to advance the ball to the front court? 47. Airborne A4 catches a pass, lands on one foot, jumps off that foot, and lands on both feet simultaneously. A4 then pivots? Has A4 travelled? 48. Team A is awarded a throw-in. The ball is handed to thrower-in A1. Is the ball live at this time? 49. A time out is granted to Team A. As the players are proceeding to their respective bench area, player A1 pushes player B1. Is this a technical foul? 50. In terms of the team foul penalty situation, shall the overtime be the continuation of the fourth period?

You might also like