European Parliament



2024-2029

Committee on Constitutional Affairs

2024/2021(DEC)

29.1.2025

OPINION

of the Committee on Constitutional Affairs

for the Committee on Budgetary Control

on discharge in respect of the implementation of the general budget of the European Union for the financial year 2023, Section II – European Council and Council (2024/2021(DEC))

Rapporteur for opinion: Sven Simon

AD\1314183EN.docx

PA_NonLegDec

EN

OPINION

The Committee on Constitutional Affairs calls on the Committee on Budgetary Control, as the committee responsible, to incorporate the following into its motion for a resolution:

- 1. Calls for full respect of Parliament's prerogatives in the annual budgetary procedure and insists on the full application of article 14 (1) TEU;
- 2. Regrets the Council's continuing refusal to engage in sincere cooperation in the framework of the discharge procedure for more than a decade, which prevents Parliament from carrying out its duties properly and taking informed decisions; regrets that this is also reflected in other important files, such as the revision of the Treaties, the European Parliament's right of inquiry and the reform of the European electoral law;
- 3. Considers that the lack of cooperation from the European Council and from the Council with the discharge authority sends a negative signal to citizens of the Union;
- 4. Calls on the Council to implement the recommendations adopted by the European Parliament on the budget discharge procedure and to resume negotiations on the memorandum of understanding on the interinstitutional cooperation on that matter;
- 5. Reiterates that the budget of the European Council and of the Council should be divided into two separate budgets, as recommended by Parliament in its recent discharge resolutions, in order to improve transparency, expenditure efficiency and accountability of each institution;
- 6. Stresses that the next revision of the Treaties should render the discharge procedure clearer and more transparent, in particular by empowering the European Parliament explicitly in Article 319 TFEU to grant discharge to all institutions, bodies, offices and agencies individually, as reflected in its resolution of 22 November 2023 on proposals for the amendment of the Treaties; underlines that pending such a revision, the current situation should be improved through better interinstitutional cooperation within the current framework and urges the Council to actively engage with the Parliament in addressing the current situation.

FN

ANNEX: ENTITIES OR PERSONS FROM WHOM THE RAPPORTEUR HAS RECEIVED INPUT

The Chair in his capacity as rapporteur for the opinion declares under his exclusive responsibility that he did not receive input from any entity or person to be mentioned in this Annex pursuant to Article 8 of Annex I to the Rules of Procedure.

EN

INFORMATION ON ADOPTION BY COMMITTEE ASKED FOR OPINION

Date adopted	29.1.2025
Result of final vote	$\begin{array}{cccc} +: & & 22 \\ -: & & 4 \\ 0: & & 3 \end{array}$
Members present for the final vote	Gerolf Annemans, Brando Benifei, Gabriele Bischoff, Salvatore De Meo, Vasile Dîncu, Klára Dobrev, Nikolas Farantouris, Daniel Freund, Jean-Paul Garraud, Charles Goerens, Sandro Gozi, Patryk Jaki, Ľubica Karvašová, Emmanouil Kefalogiannis, Juan Fernando López Aguilar, Nicola Procaccini, Thijs Reuten, Bartłomiej Sienkiewicz, Sven Simon, Anthony Smith, Reinier Van Lanschot, Alexandre Varaut, Adrián Vázquez Lázara, Sabine Verheyen, Loránt Vincze, Charlie Weimers
Substitutes present for the final vote	Kamila Gasiuk-Pihowicz, Fabrice Leggeri, Liudas Mažylis

FINAL VOTE BY ROLL CALL IN COMMITTEE ASKED FOR OPINION

22	+
PPE	Salvatore De Meo, Kamila Gasiuk-Pihowicz, Emmanouil Kefalogiannis, Liudas Mažylis, Bartłomiej Sienkiewicz, Sven Simon, Sabine Verheyen, Loránt Vincze, Adrián Vázquez Lázara
Renew	Charles Goerens, Sandro Gozi, Ľubica Karvašová
S&D	Brando Benifei, Gabriele Bischoff, Vasile Dîncu, Klára Dobrev, Juan Fernando López Aguilar, Thijs Reuten
The Left	Nikolas Farantouris, Anthony Smith
Verts/ALE	Daniel Freund, Reinier Van Lanschot

4	-
PfE	Gerolf Annemans, Jean-Paul Garraud, Fabrice Leggeri, Alexandre Varaut

3	0
ECR	Patryk Jaki, Nicola Procaccini, Charlie Weimers

Key to symbols: + : in favour

- : against0 : abstention

EN