European Parliament



2024-2029

Plenary sitting

A10-0007/2025

31.1.2025

RECOMMENDATION

on the draft Council decision on the renewal of the Agreement on cooperation in science and technology between the European Community and Ukraine (COM(2024)0438 - C10-0196/2024 - 2024/0240(NLE))

Committee on Industry, Research and Energy

Rapporteur: Borys Budka

RR\1314396EN.docx

PE766.783v02-00

Symbols for procedures

- * Consultation procedure
- *** Consent procedure
- ***I Ordinary legislative procedure (first reading)
- ***II Ordinary legislative procedure (second reading)
- ***III Ordinary legislative procedure (third reading)

(The type of procedure depends on the legal basis proposed by the draft act.)

CONTENTS

	Page
DRAFT EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION	5
EXPLANATORY STATEMENT	6
ANNEX: ENTITIES OR PERSONS FROM WHOM THE RAPPORTEUR HAS F	
PROCEDURE – COMMITTEE RESPONSIBLE	8
FINAL VOTE BY ROLL CALL BY THE COMMITTEE RESPONSIBLE	9

DRAFT EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION

on the draft Council decision on the renewal of the Agreement on cooperation in science and technology between the European Community and Ukraine (COM(2024)0438 – C10-0196/2024 – 2024/0240(NLE))

(Consent)

The European Parliament,

- having regard to the draft Council decision (14848/2024),
- having regard to the Council Decision 2003/96/EC of 6 February 2003 concerning the conclusion of the Agreement for scientific and technological cooperation between the European Community and Ukraine¹,
- having regard to the request for consent submitted by the Council in accordance with Article 186 and Article 218(6), second subparagraph, point (a)(v) of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (C10-0196/2024),
- having regard to Rule 107(1) and (4), and Rule 117(7) of its Rules of Procedure,
- having regard to the recommendation of the Committee on Industry, Research and Energy (A10-0007/2025),
- 1. Gives its consent to the renewal of the agreement;
- 2. Instructs its President to forward its position to the Council, the Commission and the governments and parliaments of the Member States and of Ukraine.

¹ OJ L 36, 12.2.2003, p. 31, ELI: http://data.europa.eu/eli/dec/2003/96(1)/oj.

EXPLANATORY STATEMENT

Ukraine has a long tradition of science and technology excellence and despite the difficulties of the last years and Russia's unlawful and unprovoked war of aggression, Ukraine still has first class science and scientists, and remains an important science, technology and innovation (STI) actor in the neighbourhood of the Union. Cooperation between the Union and Ukraine has traditionally been very active notably in the fields of advanced/new materials, IT-technology, physics and astronomy, engineering, agricultural technology, nanotechnology, biotechnology and their applications across various sectors such as aviation, energy, and biomedicine, in particular immunotherapies for cancer.

The 'Agreement on cooperation in science and technology between the European Community and Ukraine' was signed in Copenhagen on 4 July 2002 and was concluded originally until 31 December 2002. Article 12 point (b) of the Agreement provides for a possibility of renewal by common agreement between the Parties for additional periods of five years. The Agreement has been renewed four times: in 2003, 2011, 2015 and 2020.

The renewal of the Agreement for an additional period of five years is in the mutual interest of both Parties to the Agreement in order to continue facilitating cooperation between the EU and Ukraine in common science and technology (S&T) priority areas leading to mutual benefits as laid out in Article 4 of the Agreement.

The substance of the proposed decision is to extend the existing Agreement. It will in all other regards be identical to that of the content of the current Agreement.

The content of the Agreement will remain unchanged and will not create new or additional rights and obligations for either of the Parties, but instead it will extend in time the legal regime already existing between the Parties in the field of S&T cooperation.

For the reasons stated above, the Rapporteur believes that it is in the Union's interest to renew the 'Agreement on cooperation in science and technology between the European Community and Ukraine' for a new period of five years.

FN

ANNEX: ENTITIES OR PERSONS FROM WHOM THE RAPPORTEUR HAS RECEIVED INPUT

The rapporteur declares under his exclusive responsibility that he did not receive input from any entity or person to be mentioned in this Annex pursuant to Article 8 of Annex I to the Rules of Procedure.

PROCEDURE – COMMITTEE RESPONSIBLE

Title	Renewal of the Agreement on cooperation in science and technology between the European Community and Ukraine
References	14848/2024 - C10-0196/2024 - 2024/0240(NLE)
Date of consultation or request for consent	20.11.2024
Committee(s) responsible	ITRE
Rapporteurs Date appointed	Borys Budka 3.12.2024
Simplified procedure - date of decision	3.12.2024
Date adopted	29.1.2025
Result of final vote	+: 77 -: 1 0: 0
Members present for the final vote	Wouter Beke, Hildegard Bentele, Michael Bloss, Paolo Borchia, Borys Budka, João Cotrim De Figueiredo, Raúl de la Hoz Quintano, Elena Donazzan, Matthias Ecke, Christian Ehler, Sofie Eriksson, Jan Farský, Lina Gálvez, Jens Geier, Nicolás González Casares, Giorgio Gori, Bart Groothuis, Elisabetta Gualmini, András Gyürk, Niels Flemming Hansen, Eero Heinäluoma, Ivars Ijabs, Diana Iovanovici Şoşoacă, Fernand Kartheiser, Seán Kelly, Rudi Kennes, Sarah Knafo, Ondřej Knotek, Michał Kobosko, Ondřej Krutílek, Eszter Lakos, Isabella Lövin, Yannis Maniatis, Sara Matthieu, Eva Maydell, Marina Mesure, Jana Nagyová, Dan Nica, Angelika Niebler, Ville Niinistö, Mirosława Nykiel, Daniel Obajtek, Thomas Pellerin-Carlin, Tsvetelina Penkova, Virgil-Daniel Popescu, Jüri Ratas, Julie Rechagneux, Aura Salla, Jussi Saramo, Paulius Saudargas, Benedetta Scuderi, Anna Stürgkh, Marcin Sypniewski, Beata Szydło, Dario Tamburrano, Matej Tonin, Isabella Tovaglieri, Filip Turek, Yvan Verougstraete, Mariateresa Vivaldini, Andrea Wechsler, Angelika Winzig, Auke Zijlstra
Substitutes present for the final vote	René Aust, Per Clausen, Pietro Fiocchi, Hanna Gedin, Radan Kanev, Rihards Kols, Marion Maréchal, Jutta Paulus, Massimiliano Salini, Davor Ivo Stier, Dimitris Tsiodras, Brigitte van den Berg, Marion Walsmann
Members under Rule 216(7) present for the final vote	Raffaele Topo, Marianne Vind
Date tabled	31.1.2025

FINAL VOTE BY ROLL CALL BY THE COMMITTEE RESPONSIBLE

77	+
ECR	Elena Donazzan, Pietro Fiocchi, Fernand Kartheiser, Rihards Kols, Ondřej Krutílek, Marion Maréchal, Daniel Obajtek, Beata Szydło, Mariateresa Vivaldini
ESN	René Aust, Sarah Knafo, Marcin Sypniewski
PPE	Wouter Beke, Hildegard Bentele, Borys Budka, Raúl de la Hoz Quintano, Christian Ehler, Jan Farský, Niels Flemming Hansen, Radan Kanev, Seán Kelly, Eszter Lakos, Eva Maydell, Angelika Niebler, Mirosława Nykiel, Virgil-Daniel Popescu, Jüri Ratas, Massimiliano Salini, Aura Salla, Paulius Saudargas, Davor Ivo Stier, Matej Tonin, Dimitris Tsiodras, Marion Walsmann, Andrea Wechsler, Angelika Winzig
PfE	Paolo Borchia, András Gyürk, Ondřej Knotek, Jana Nagyová, Julie Rechagneux, Isabella Tovaglieri, Filip Turek, Auke Zijlstra
Renew	João Cotrim De Figueiredo, Bart Groothuis, Ivars Ijabs, Michał Kobosko, Anna Stürgkh, Brigitte van den Berg, Yvan Verougstraete
S&D	Matthias Ecke, Sofie Eriksson, Lina Gálvez, Jens Geier, Nicolás González Casares, Giorgio Gori, Elisabetta Gualmini, Eero Heinäluoma, Yannis Maniatis, Dan Nica, Thomas Pellerin-Carlin, Tsvetelina Penkova, Raffaele Topo, Marianne Vind
The Left	Per Clausen, Hanna Gedin, Rudi Kennes, Marina Mesure, Jussi Saramo, Dario Tamburrano
Verts/ALE	Michael Bloss, Isabella Lövin, Sara Matthieu, Ville Niinistö, Jutta Paulus, Benedetta Scuderi

1	-
NI	Diana Iovanovici Șoșoacă

0	0

Key to symbols: + : in favour

- : against
- 0 : abstention