GitHub Pricing 2026
Plans, hidden costs, and alternatives compared
Cite this data: Toolradar, GitHub pricing verified Oct 2026, toolradar.com/tools/github/pricing
GitHub starts at $4/user/month on the Team plan.
Verified Oct 2026 from the official pricing page.
Is GitHub worth the price?
GitHub Team at $4/user/month is the cheapest mainstream Git hosting for small teams, but the sticker price hides a sprawling add-on ecosystem.
The January 2026 Actions pricing overhaul cut hosted-runner rates by ~40% but introduced a $0.002/minute platform charge on self-hosted runners, a new cost for teams that previously paid nothing for CI/CD compute. For most 5-person teams, Team + Copilot Business is the realistic baseline.
Pricing Plans
14-day Free TrialFree
For individuals and small teams
- Unlimited public and private repos
- 2,000 CI/CD minutes/month
- 500MB Packages storage
- Dependabot security updates
- Issues and Projects
- Community support
Team
$4//user/month
For growing teams and organizations
- Everything in Free
- 3,000 CI/CD minutes/month
- 2GB Packages storage
- Repository rules and code owners
- Required reviewers and draft PRs
- GitHub Codespaces
- Web-based support
Enterprise
$21//user/month
For enterprises with advanced security needs
- Everything in Team
- 50,000 CI/CD minutes/month
- 50GB Packages storage
- SAML SSO and SCIM provisioning
- Enterprise Managed Users
- Data residency (EU, Australia)
- Advanced audit log and API
- Premium 24/7 support with SLA
Hidden Costs & Gotchas
Actions minutes burn fast on macOS ($0.062/min, ~10x Linux cost), a 20-minute macOS build costs $1.24 vs $0.12 on Linux. The 3,000 Team minutes deplete in ~48 macOS builds/month
LFS is $5/month per 50 GB data pack (bandwidth + storage). Teams with large assets (game dev, ML models) can accumulate multiple packs, 200 GB of LFS costs $20/month
Packages storage overage is $0.25/GB/month beyond the 2 GB Team allowance. Docker image registries grow fast, 20 GB of container images costs $4.50/month extra
Self-hosted runners now incur $0.002/min platform charge (since March 2026), a team running 10,000 self-hosted minutes/month pays $20/month that was previously free
Enterprise plan ($21/user/month) is required for SAML SSO, a hard gate that forces a 5.25x price jump from Team
How GitHub compares
4 of 5 direct competitors offer a free plan.
| Tool | Starting price | Free plan |
|---|---|---|
| GitHub | $4/user/month | Yes |
| GitLab | $29/user/month | Yes |
| Bitbucket | $3/month, billing unit not specified | Yes |
| SourceForge | No public price | No |
| Gitea | Free | Yes |
| AWS Codecommit | $0/user/month | Yes |
GitHub Pricing FAQ
How much does GitHub cost?
GitHub starts at $4/user/month on the Team plan. It offers 2 paid tiers ranging from $4/user/month to $21/user/month. A free plan is also available.
Does GitHub have a free plan?
Yes. GitHub offers a free plan called "Free". It includes: Unlimited public and private repos, 2,000 CI/CD minutes/month, 500MB Packages storage.
Does GitHub offer a free trial?
Yes. GitHub offers a free trial lasting 14 days.
What is the cheapest GitHub paid plan?
The cheapest paid plan for GitHub is "Team" at $4/user/month. Key features include: Everything in Free, 3,000 CI/CD minutes/month, 2GB Packages storage.
What are alternatives to GitHub?
Alternatives to GitHub include GitLab, Bitbucket, SourceForge, Gitea. Gitea is fully free. GitLab starts at $29/user/month; Bitbucket starts at $3/month, billing unit not specified; AWS Codecommit starts at $0/user/month.
How much does GitHub cost for a team of 10?
For 10 users on the Team plan, GitHub is $40/month, or $480/year, at the published per-user rate.
GitHub alternatives
Direct competitors. Starting prices match the table above.
Sources
- Official GitHub pricing: github.com/pricing (verified Oct 2026)
- Cite this data: Toolradar, GitHub pricing verified Oct 2026, toolradar.com/tools/github/pricing

Review GitHub, get a free AI guide
Share your experience and we will send you Improve Your Thinking Patterns Using ChatGPT, free.