The Old Library is the jewel in the crown of Trinity Hall and one of
the hidden gems of Cambridge. The redbrick Tudor building, situated opposite the Master’s Lodge, was built in the 1580s and is the oldest library in Cambridge still in its original setting. It is one of a handful of chained libraries remaining in Britain. Unusually, the interior and furniture are much as they were at the time of construction: each lectern has the original locking mechanism intact and the Library still contains examples of chained books.
The College’s special collections of rare books and manuscripts are housed here. The oldest manuscript is a life of St. Martin of Tours created in c.1070.

